Academic Calendar 2020-2021

Academic Year 2020-2021

Calendar Icon

Fall 2020: August 24 - December 18 (Includes Finals Week)*

(Term = 1208)

DateEvent
April 6 (Mon.) - April 21 (Tue.) 2020 Priority Registration for Fall Semester 2020
April 22 (Wed.) - August 23 (Sun.) 2020 Open Registration for Fall Semester 2020
May 1 (Wed.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer and Fall Semester 2020
August 24 (Mon.)  Late Registration begins ($100.00 late registration fee assessed)
August 24 (Mon.)  Fall Semester begins
August 31 (Mon.)  Last day for full semester course registrations and adds including adds of thesis or dissertation credits (Census Date)
August 31st (Mon.) Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 100% refund
September 4 (Fri.) Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 75% refund
September 4 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove a full semester course from student’s record
September 5 (Sat.) – November 13 (Fri.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of “W” on academic record
September 7 (Mon.) Labor Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
September 11 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 50% refund
September 11 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in December  ($25.00 fee due with application)
September 12 (Sat.) Last day to submit tuition and fees payment without penalty
September 18 (Fri.)  Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 25% refund
October 16 (Fri.)  Last day to change a full semester course registration to or from “Pass/No Pass”
October 19 - 20 (Mon. - Tue.)  Fall Semester Break (Student Holiday - UNL offices open)
October 26 (Mon.) - November 10 (Tue.)  Priority Registration for Spring Semester 2021
November 11 (Wed.) 2020 - January 10 (Sun.) 2021 Open Registration for Spring Semester 2021
November 13 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from one or more full semester courses for the term
November 25 (Wed.) Student Holiday (UNL offices open)
November 26 – November 28 (Thu. - Sat.) Thanksgiving Vacation (UNL offices closed)
December 1 (Tue.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Spring 2021
December 7 - 12 (Mon. - Sat.) Last week of classes**
December 12 (Sat.) Last day of classes
December 14 - 18 (Mon. - Fri.) Fall Semester Final Exams
December 18 (Fri.) Fall Semester Graduate Commencement and Doctoral Hooding Ceremony
December 19 (Sat.)  Fall Semester Undergraduate Commencement
December 24 (Thurs.) 2020 - January 3 (Sun.) 2021 Holiday Closedown (UNL offices closed)

Spring 2021: January 11 - May 7 (Includes Finals Week)*

(Term = 1211)

DateEvent
October 26 (Mon.) - November 10 (Tue.) 2020 Priority Registration for Spring Semester 2021
November 11 (Wed.) 2019 - January 10 (Sun.) 2021 Open Registration for Spring Semester 2021
January 4 (Mon.) First day UNL offices are open in 2021
January 11 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($100.00 late registration fee assessed)
January 11 (Mon.) Spring Semester Begins
January 18 (Mon.) Martin Luther King Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
January 19 (Tue.) Last day for full semester course registrations and adds including adds of thesis or dissertation credits (Census Date)
January 19 (Tue.) Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 100% refund
January 22 (Fri.) Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 75% refund
January 22 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove a full semester course from student's record
January 23 (Sat.) - April 9 (Fri.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
January 29 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 50% refund
January 29 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in May ($25.00 fee due with application)
February 5 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 25% refund
February 12 (Fir.) Last day to submit tuition and fees payment without penalty
March 1 (Mon.) - May 16 (Sun.) Open Registration for Summer Sessions 2021
March 5 (Fri.) Last day to change a full semester course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
March 14 - 21 (Sun. - Sun.) Spring Vacation (UNL offices are open Monday through Friday)
March 22 (Mon.) - April 6 (Tue.) Priority Registration for Fall Semester 2021
April 9(Fri.) Last day to withdraw from one or more full semester courses for the term
April 7 (Wed.) - Aug 22 (Sun.) Open Registration for Fall Semester 2021
April 26 – May 1 (Mon. - Sat.) Last week of classes**
May 1 (Sat.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer and Fall Semester 2021
May 1 (Sat.) Last day of classes**
May 3 – May 7 (Mon. - Fri.) Spring Semester Final Exams
May 7 (Fri.) Spring Semester Graduate Commencement and Doctoral Hooding Ceremony
May 8 (Sat.) Spring Semester Undergraduate Commencement

Summer Semester 2021*

(Term = 1215)

The Summer Semester is divided into 4 individual sessions.


DatePre-Session Event: MAY 17 - JUNE 4
March 1 (Mon.) - May 16 (Sun.) Open Registration
May 1 (Sat.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer 2021
May 17 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($100.00 late registration fee assessed)
May 17 (Mon.) Classes begin*
May 18 (Tue.) Last day for late registrations and adds
May 18 (Tue.) Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
May 21 (Fri.) Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
May 21 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
May 22 (Sat.) – June 2 (Wed.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
May 26 (Wed.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
May 31 (Mon.) Memorial Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
June 2 (Wed.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the Pre-session
June 4 (Fri.) Classes end and final examinations
June 11 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in August ($25.00 fee due with application)
June 12 (Sat.) Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
Date8-Week Session Event: MAY 17 - JULY 9
March 1 (Mon.) - May 16 (Sun.) Open Registration
May 1 (Fri.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer 2021
May 17 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($100.00 late registration fee assessed)
May 17 (Mon.) Classes begin*
May 20 (Thu.) Last day for late registrations and adds
May 20 (Thu.) Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
May 21 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
May 22 (Sat.) - June 25 (Fri.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
May 31 (Mon.) Memorial Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
June 4 (Fri.) Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
June 11 (Fri.) Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
June 11 (Fri.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
June 11 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in August ($25.00 fee due with application)
June 25 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the 8-Week Session
July 5 (Mon.) Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed in observance of Independance Day
July 9 (Fri.) Classes end and final examinations
Date1st Five-Week Session Event: JUNE 7 - JULY 9
March 1 (Mon.) - June 6 (Sun.) Open Registration
May 1 (Sat.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer 2021
June 7 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($100.00 late registration fee assessed)
June 7 (Mon.) Classes begin*
June 9 (Wed.) Last day for late registrations and adds
June 9 (Wed.) Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
June 11 (Fri.) Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
June 11 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
June 11 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in August ($25.00 fee due with application)
June 12 (Sat.) – June 30 (Wed.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
June 18 (Fri.) Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
June 22 (Tue.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
June 30 (Wed.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the 1st Five-Week Session
July 5 (Mon.) Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed in observance of Independance Day
July 9 (Fri.) Classes end and final examinations
Date2nd Five-Week Session Event: JULY 13 - AUGUST 13
March 1 (Mon.) – July 11 (Sun.) Open Registration
May 1 (Sat.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer 2021
June 11 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in August ($25.00 fee due with application)
June 12 (Sun.) Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
July 12 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($100.00 late registration fee assessed)
July 12 (Mon.) Classes begin*
July 14 (Wed.) Last day for late registrations and adds
July 14 (Wed.) Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
July 16 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
July 17 (Sat.) - August 4 (Wed.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
July 23 (Fri.) Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
July 27 (Tue.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
August 4 (Wed.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the 2nd Five-Week Session
August 12 (Thu.) Classes end and final examinations
August 14 (Sat.) Summer Semester Undergraduate & Graduate Commencement and Doctoral Hooding Ceremony

*Mini Session Courses follow prorated dates for deadlines, tuition charges and refunds. For Mini Course tuition charges or refund dates, please contact Student Accounts.

**Faculty please see the 15th Week Policy regarding the last week of classes.

Academic calendars are subject to change without notice. The University reserves the right to revise or change rules, charges, fees, schedules, courses, requirements for degrees, and other regulations affecting students including, but not limited to, evaluation standards, whenever considered necessary or desirable. The University reserves the right to cancel any course for insufficient registration and to phase out any program. Registration by a student signifies an agreement to comply with all regulations of the University.

Back to top