Academic Calendar

Previous Year
Academic Year 2016-2017
Fall Semester 2016* (Term = 1168)
  ICS 
Projected Calendars

August 22 - December 16 (Includes Finals Week)

Date
Event
March 28 (Mon.) - April 12 (Tue.) 2016 Priority Registration for Fall Semester 2016
April 13 (Wed.) - August 21 (Sun.) 2016 Open Registration for Fall Semester 2016
May 1 (Sun.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer and Fall 2016
August 22 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
August 22 (Mon.) Fall Semester begins
August 29 (Mon.) Last day for full semester course registrations and adds including adds of thesis or dissertation credits (Census Date)
August 29 (Mon.) Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 100% refund
September 2 (Fri.) Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 75% refund
September 2 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove a full semester course from student's record
September 3 (Sat.) - November 11 (Fri.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
September 5 (Mon.) Labor Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
September 9 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 50% refund
September 12 (Mon.) Last day to submit tuition and fees payment without penalty
September 16 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 25% refund
September 30 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in December ($25.00 fee due with application)
October 14 (Fri.) Last day to change a full semester course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
October 17 - 18 (Mon. - Tue.) Fall Semester Break (Student Holiday - UNL offices open)
October 24 (Mon.) - November 8 (Tue.) Priority Registration for Spring Semester 2017
November 9 (Wed.) 2016 - January 8 (Sun.) 2017 Open Registration for Spring Semester 2017
November 11 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from one or more full semester courses for the term
November 23 (Wed.) Student Holiday (UNL offices open)
November 24 - 27 (Thu. - Sun.) Thanksgiving Vacation (UNL offices closed)
December 1 (Thu.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Spring 2017
December 5 - 10 (Mon. - Sat.) Last week of classes**
December 10 (Sat.) Last day of classes
December 12 - 16 (Mon. - Fri.) Fall Semester Final Exams - Final Exams Information
December 16 (Fri.) Fall Semester Graduate Commencement and Doctoral Hooding Ceremony
December 17 (Sat.) Fall Semester Undergraduate Commencement
December 26 (Mon.) 2016 - January 2 (Mon.) 2017 Holiday Closedown (UNL offices closed)

 

Academic Year 2016-2017
Spring Semester 2017* (Term = 1171)

January 9 - May 5 (Includes Finals Week)

Date
Event
October 24 (Mon.) - November 8 (Tue.) 2016 Priority Registration for Spring Semester 2017
November 9 (Wed.) 2016 - January 8 (Sun.) 2017 Open Registration for Spring Semester 2017
January 3 (Tue.) First day UNL offices are open in 2017
January 9 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
January 9 (Mon.) Spring Semester Begins
January 16 (Mon.) Martin Luther King Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
January 17 (Tue.) Last day for full semester course registrations and adds including adds of thesis or dissertation credits (Census Date)
January 17 (Tue.) Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 100% refund
January 20 (Fri.) Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 75% refund
January 20 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove a full semester course from student's record
January 21 (Sat.) - April 7 (Fri.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
January 27 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 50% refund
January 27 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in May ($25.00 fee due with application)
February 3 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 25% refund
February 12 (Sun.) Last day to submit tuition and fees payment without penalty
March 3 (Fri.) Last day to change a full semester course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
March 6 (Mon.) - May 14 (Sun.) Open Registration for Summer Sessions 2017
March 19 - 26 (Sun. - Sun.) Spring Vacation (UNL offices are open Monday through Friday)
March 27 (Mon.) - April 11 (Tue.) Priority Registration for Fall Semester 2017
April 7 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from one or more full semester courses for the term
April 12 (Wed.) - Aug 20 (Sun.) Open Registration for Fall Semester 2017
April 23 (Sun.) Honors convocation
April 24 - April 29 (Mon. - Sat.) Last week of classes**
April 29 (Sat.) Last day of classes
May 1 (Mon.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer and Fall 2017
May 1 - 5 (Mon. - Fri.) Spring Semester Final Exams - Final Exams Information
May 5 (Fri.) Spring Semester Graduate Commencement and Doctoral Hooding Ceremony
May 6 (Sat.) Spring Semester Undergraduate Commencement

 

Summer Semester 2017* (Term = 1175)
Date
Pre-Session Event: May 15 - June 2
March 6 (Mon.) - May 14 (Sun.) Open Registration
May 1 (Mon.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer and Fall 2017
May 15 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
May 15 (Mon.) Classes begin*
May 16 (Tue.) Last day for late registrations and adds
May 16 (Tue.) Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
May 19 (Fri.) Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
May 19 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
May 20 (Sat.) – May 31 (Wed.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
May 24 (Wed.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
May 29 (Mon.) Memorial Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
May 31 (Wed.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the Pre-session
June 2 (Fri.) Classes end and final examinations
June 12 (Mon.) Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
June 30 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in August ($25.00 fee due with application)
Date
8-Week Session Event: May 15 - July 7
March 6 (Mon.) - May 14 (Sun.) Open Registration
May 1 (Mon.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer and Fall 2017
May 15 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
May 15 (Mon.) Classes begin*
May 18 (Thu.) Last day for late registrations and adds
May 18 (Thu.) Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
May 19 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
May 20 (Sat.) - June 23 (Fri.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
May 29 (Mon.) Memorial Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
June 2 (Fri.) Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
June 9 (Fri.)  Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
June 12 (Mon.) Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
June 23 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the 8-Week Session
June 30 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in August ($25.00 fee due with application)
July 4 (Tues.) Independence Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
July 7 (Fri.) Classes end and final examinations
Date
1st Five-Week Session Event: June 5 - July 7
March 6 (Mon.) - June 4 (Sun.) Open Registration
May 1 (Mon.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer and Fall 2017
June 5 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
June 5 (Mon.) Classes begin*
June 7 (Wed.) Last day for late registrations and adds
June 7 (Wed.) Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
June 9 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
June 10 (Sat.) - June 28 (Wed.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
June 12 (Mon.) Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
June 16 (Fri.) Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
June 20 (Tue.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
June 28 (Wed.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the 1st Five-Week Session
June 30 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in August ($25.00 fee due with application)
July 4 (Tues.) Independence Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
July 7 (Fri.) Classes end and final examinations
Date
2nd Five-Week Session Event: July 10 - August 10
March 6 (Mon.) - July 9 (Sun.) Open Registration
May 1 (Mon.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer and Fall 2017
June 12 (Mon.) Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
June 30 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in August ($25.00 fee due with application)
July 10 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
July 10 (Mon.) Classes begin*
July 12 (Wed.) Last day for late registrations and adds
July 12 (Wed.) Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
July 14 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
July 15 (Sat.) - August 2 (Wed.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
July 21 (Fri.) Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
July 25 (Tue.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
August 2 (Wed.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the 2nd Five-Week Session
August 10 (Thu.) Classes end and final examinations
TBA Summer Semester Undergraduate & Graduate Commencement and Doctoral Hooding Ceremony

 

*Mini Session Courses follow prorated dates for deadlines, tuition charges and refunds. For Mini Course tuition charges or refund dates, please contact Student Accounts.

**Faculty please see the 15th Week Policy regarding the last week of classes.

Academic calendars are subject to change without notice. The University reserves the right to revise or change rules, charges, fees, schedules, courses, requirements for degrees, and other regulations affecting students including, but not limited to, evaluation standards, whenever considered necessary or desirable. The University reserves the right to cancel any course for insufficient registration and to phase out any program. Registration by a student signifies an agreement to comply with all regulations of the University.

Back to top