Academic Calendar 2013-2014 ics format for upcoming events rss format for upcoming events

 

 

Academic Year 2013-2014: Fall Semester 2013* (Term = 1138)

August 26 - December 20

Date

Event

March 25 (Mon.) - April 9 (Tue.) 2013 Priority Registration for Fall Semester 2013
April 10 (Wed.) - August 25 (Sun.) 2013 Open Registration for Fall Semester 2013
May 1 (Wed.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions
August 26 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
August 26 (Mon.) Fall Semester begins
September 2 (Mon.) Labor Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
September 3 (Tue.) Last day for late registrations and adds including adds of thesis or dissertation credits (Census Date)
September 3 (Tue.) Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 100% refund
September 6 (Fri.) Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 75% refund
September 6 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
September 7 (Sat.) - November 15 (Fri.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
September 12 (Thu.) Last day to submit tuition and fees payment without penalty
September 13 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 50% refund
September 13 (Fri.) Last day to apply for residence for Fall Semester
September 20 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 25% refund
September 27 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in December ($25.00 fee due with application)
October 18 (Fri.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
October 21 - 22 (Mon. - Tue.) Fall Semester Break (Student Holiday - UNL offices open)
October 28 (Mon.) - November 12 (Tue.) Priority Registration for Spring Semester 2014
November 13 (Wed.) - January 12 (Sun.) 2014 Open Registration for Spring Semester 2014
November 15 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the term
November 27 (Wed.) Student Holiday (UNL offices open)
November 28 - December 1 (Thu. - Sun.) Thanksgiving Vacation (UNL offices closed)
December 9 - 14 (Mon. - Sat.) Last week of classes**
December 14 (Sat.) Last day of classes
December 16 - 20 (Mon. - Fri.) Fall Semester Final Exams - Final Exams Information
December 20 (Fri.) Fall Semester Graduate Commencement and Doctoral Hooding Ceremony
December 21 (Sat.) Fall Semester Undergraduate Commencement
December 23 (Mon.) - January 1 (Wed.) 2014 Holiday Closedown (UNL offices closed)

 

 

Academic Year 2013-2014: Spring Semester 2014* (Term = 1141)

January 13 - May 9

Date

Event

October 28 (Mon.) - November 12 (Tue.) 2013 Priority Registration for Spring Semester 2014
November 13 (Wed.) 2013 - January 12 (Sun.) 2014 Open Registration for Spring Semester 2014
December 1 (Sun.) 2013 Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions
January 2 (Thu.) First day UNL offices are open in 2014
January 13 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
January 13 (Mon.) Spring Semester Begins
January 20 (Mon.) Martin Luther King Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
January 21 (Tue.) Last day for late registrations and adds including adds of thesis or dissertation credits (Census Date)
January 21 (Tue.) Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 100% refund
January 24 (Fri.) Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 75% refund
January 24 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
January 25 (Sat.) - April 11 (Fri.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
January 31 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 50% refund
January 31 (Fri.) Last day to apply for residence for Spring Semester
January 31 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in May ($25.00 fee due with application)
February 7 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 25% refund
February 12 (Wed.) Last day to submit tuition and fees payment without penalty
March 7 (Fri.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
March 17 (Mon.) Early Registration for Summer Sessions 2014 begins
March 23 - 30 (Sun. - Sun.) Spring Vacation (UNL offices are open Monday through Friday)
March 31 (Mon.) - April 15 (Tue.) Priority Registration begins for Fall Semester 2014
April 11 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the term
April 13 (Sun.) Honors Convocation (date subject to change)
April 28 - May 3 (Mon. - Sat.) Last week of classes**
May 3 (Sat.) Last day of classes
May 5 - May 9 (Mon. - Fri.) Spring Semester Final Exams - Final Exams Information
May 9 (Fri.) Spring Semester Graduate Commencement and Doctoral Hooding Ceremony
May 10 (Sat.) Spring Semester Undergraduate Commencement
 


 

Academic Year 2013-2014: Summer Semester 2014* (Term = 1145)

The Summer Semester is divided into 4 individual sessions:

Date

Pre-Session Event

March 17 (Mon.) - May 18 (Sun.) 2014 Open registration
May 19 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
May 19 (Mon.) Classes begin*
May 20 (Tue.) Last day for late registrations and adds
May 20 (Tue.) Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
May 23 (Fri.) Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
May 23 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
May 24 (Sat.) - June 4 (Wed.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
May 26 (Mon.) Memorial Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
May 28 (Wed.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
June 4 (Wed.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the Pre-session
June 6 (Fri.) Classes end and final examinations
June 12 (Thu.) Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty

Date

8-Week Session Event

March 17 (Mon.) - May 18 (Sun.) 2014 Open registration
May 19 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
May 19 (Mon.) Classes begin*
May 22 (Thu.) Last day for late registrations and adds
May 22 (Thu.) Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
May 23 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
May 24 (Sat.) - June 27 (Fri.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
May 26 (Mon.)   Memorial Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
June 6 (Fri.) Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
June 12 (Thu.) Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
June 13 (Fri.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
June 27 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the 8-Week Session
July 4 (Fri.) Independence Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
July 11 (Fri.) Classes end and final examinations

Date

1st Five-Week Session Event

March 17 (Mon.) - June 8 (Sun.) 2014 Open registration
June 9 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
June 9 (Mon.) Classes begin*
June 11 (Wed.) Last day for late registrations and adds
June 11 (Wed.) Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
June 12 (Thu.) Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
June 13 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
June 14 (Sat.) - July 2 (Wed.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
June 20 (Fri.) Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
June 24 (Tue.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
July 2 (Wed.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the 1st Five-Week Session
July 4 (Fri.) Independence Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
July 11 (Fri.) Classes end and final examinations

Date

2nd Five-Week Session Event

March 17 (Mon.) - July 13 (Sun.) 2014 Open registration
June 12 (Thu.) Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
June 27 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in August ($25.00 fee due with application)
July 14 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
July 14 (Mon.) Classes begin*
July 16 (Wed.) Last day for late registrations and adds
July 16 (Wed.) Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
July 18 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
July 19 (Sat.) - August 6 (Wed.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
July 25 (Fri.) Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
July 29 (Tue.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
August 6 (Wed.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the 2nd Five-Week Session
August 14 (Thu.) Classes end and final examinations
August 16 (Sat.) Summer Semester All University Commencement

 

 

*Mini Session Courses follow prorated dates for deadlines, tuition charges and refunds. For Mini Course tuition charges or refund dates, please contact Student Accounts.

**Faculty please see the 15th Week Policy regarding the last week of classes.

Academic calendars are subject to change without notice. The University reserves the right to revise or change rules, charges, fees, schedules, courses, requirements for degrees, and other regulations affecting students including, but not limited to, evaluation standards, whenever considered necessary or desirable. The University reserves the right to cancel any course for insufficient registration and to phase out any program. Registration by a student signifies an agreement to comply with all regulations of the University.