Academic Calendar

Academic Year 2014-2015: Fall Semester 2014* (Term = 1148)   ICS 

August 25 - December 19  (Includes Finals Week)

Date
Event
March 31 (Mon.) - April 15 (Tue.) 2014 Priority Registration for Fall Semester 2014
April 16 (Wed.) - August 24 (Sun.) 2014 Open Registration for Fall Semester 2014
May 1 (Thu.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions
August 25 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
August 25 (Mon.) Fall Semester begins
September 1 (Mon.) Labor Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
September 2 (Tue.) Last day for late registrations and adds including adds of thesis or dissertation credits (Census Date)
September 2 (Tue.) Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 100% refund
September 5 (Fri.) Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 75% refund
September 5 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
September 6 (Sat.) - November 14 (Fri.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
September 12 (Fri.) Last day to submit tuition and fees payment without penalty
September 12 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 50% refund
September 12 (Fri.) Last day to apply for residence for Fall Semester
September 19 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 25% refund
September 26 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in December ($25.00 fee due with application)
October 17 (Fri.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
October 20 - 21 (Mon. - Tue.) Fall Semester Break (Student Holiday - UNL offices open)
October 27 (Mon.) - November 11 (Tue.) Priority Registration for Spring Semester 2015
November 12 (Wed.) 2014 - January 11 (Sun.) 2015 Open Registration for Spring Semester 2015
November 14 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the term
November 26 (Wed.) Student Holiday (UNL offices open)
November 27 - 30 (Thu. - Sun.) Thanksgiving Vacation (UNL offices closed)
December 8 - 13 (Mon. - Sat.) Last week of classes**
December 13 (Sat.) Last day of classes
December 15 - 19 (Mon. - Fri.) Fall Semester Final Exams - Final Exams Information
December 19 (Fri.) Fall Semester Graduate Commencement and Doctoral Hooding Ceremony
December 20 (Sat.) Fall Semester Undergraduate Commencement
December 24 (Wed.) 2014 - January 2 (Fri.) 2015 Holiday Closedown (UNL offices closed)

 

Academic Year 2014-2015: Spring Semester 2015* (Term = 1151)

January 12 - May 8  (Includes Finals Week)

Date
Event
October 27 (Mon.) - November 11 (Tue.) 2014 Priority Registration for Spring Semester 2015
November 12 (Wed.) 2014 - January 11 (Sun.) 2015 Open Registration for Spring Semester 2015
December 1 (Mon.) 2014 Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions
January 5 (Mon.) First day UNL offices are open in 2015
January 12 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
January 12 (Mon.) Spring Semester Begins
January 19 (Mon.) Martin Luther King Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
January 20 (Tue.) Last day for late registrations and adds including adds of thesis or dissertation credits (Census Date)
January 20 (Tue.) Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 100% refund
January 23 (Fri.) Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 75% refund
January 23 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
January 24 (Sat.) - April 10 (Fri.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
January 30 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 50% refund
January 30 (Fri.) Last day to apply for residence for Spring Semester
January 30 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in May ($25.00 fee due with application)
February 6 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 25% refund
February 12 (Thu.) Last day to submit tuition and fees payment without penalty
March 6 (Fri.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
March 9 (Mon.) Early Registration for Summer Sessions 2015 begins
March 22 - 29 (Sun. - Sun.) Spring Vacation (UNL offices are open Monday through Friday)
March 30 (Mon.) - April 14 (Tue.) Priority Registration begins for Fall Semester 2015
April 15 (Wed.) - Aug 23 (Sun.) Open Registration for Fall Semester 2015
April 10 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the term
April 12 (Sun.) Honors Convocation (date subject to change)
April 27 - May 2 (Mon. - Sat.) Last week of classes**
May 2 (Sat.) Last day of classes
May 4 - May 8 (Mon. - Fri.) Spring Semester Final Exams - Final Exams Information
May 8 (Fri.) Spring Semester Graduate Commencement and Doctoral Hooding Ceremony
May 9 (Sat.) Spring Semester Undergraduate Commencement

 

Summer Semester 2015* (Term = 1155)

The Summer Semester is divided into 4 individual sessions.

Date
Pre-Session Event
March 9 (Mon.) - May 17 (Sun.) 2015 Open registration
May 18 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
May 18 (Mon.) Classes begin*
May 19 (Tue.) Last day for late registrations and adds
May 19 (Tue.) Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
May 22 (Fri.) Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
May 22 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
May 23 (Sat.) - June 3 (Wed.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
May 25 (Mon.) Memorial Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
May 27 (Wed.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
June 3 (Wed.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the Pre-session
June 5 (Fri.) Classes end and final examinations
June 12 (Fri.) Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty

 

Date
8-Week Session Event
March 9 (Mon.) - May 17 (Sun.) 2015 Open registration
May 18 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
May 18 (Mon.) Classes begin*
May 21 (Thu.) Last day for late registrations and adds
May 21 (Thu.) Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
May 22 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
May 23 (Sat.) - June 26 (Fri.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
May 25 (Mon.) Memorial Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
June 5 (Fri.) Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
June 12 (Fri.) Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
June 12 (Fri.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
June 26 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the 8-Week Session
June 26 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in August ($25.00 fee due with application)
July 3 (Fri.) Independence Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
July 10 (Fri.) Classes end and final examinations


Date
1st Five-Week Session Event
March 9 (Mon.) - June 7 (Sun.) 2015 Open registration
June 8 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
June 8 (Mon.) Classes begin*
June 10 (Wed.) Last day for late registrations and adds
June 10 (Wed.) Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
June 12 (Fri.) Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
June 12 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
June 13 (Sat.) - July 1 (Wed.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
June 19 (Fri.) Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
June 23 (Tue.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
June 26 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in August ($25.00 fee due with application)
July 1 (Wed.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the 1st Five-Week Session
July 3 (Fri.) Independence Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
July 10 (Fri.) Classes end and final examinations


Date
2nd Five-Week Session Event
March 9 (Mon.) - July 12 (Sun.) 2015 Open registration
June 12 (Fri.) Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
June 26 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in August ($25.00 fee due with application)
July 13 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
July 13 (Mon.) Classes begin*
July 15 (Wed.) Last day for late registrations and adds
July 15 (Wed.) Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
July 17 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
July 18 (Sat.) - August 5 (Wed.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
July 24 (Fri.) Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
July 28 (Tue.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
August 5 (Wed.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the 2nd Five-Week Session
August 13 (Thu.) Classes end and final examinations
August 14 (Fri.) Summer Semester Graduate Commencement and Doctoral Hooding Ceremony
August 15 (Sat.) Summer Semester Undergraduate Commencement
 

*Mini Session Courses follow prorated dates for deadlines, tuition charges and refunds. For Mini Course tuition charges or refund dates, please contact Student Accounts.

**Faculty please see the 15th Week Policy regarding the last week of classes.

Academic calendars are subject to change without notice. The University reserves the right to revise or change rules, charges, fees, schedules, courses, requirements for degrees, and other regulations affecting students including, but not limited to, evaluation standards, whenever considered necessary or desirable. The University reserves the right to cancel any course for insufficient registration and to phase out any program. Registration by a student signifies an agreement to comply with all regulations of the University.

Back to top