Academic Calendar 2018-2019

Academic Year 2018-2019

Calendar Icon ICS  Print

Fall 2018: August 20 - December 14 (Includes Finals Week)*

(Term = 1188)

DateEvent
March 26 (Mon.) - April 10 (Tues.) 2018 Priority Registration for Fall Semester 2018
April 11 (Wed.) - August 19 (Sun.) 2018  Open Registration for Fall Semester 2018
May 1 (Tue.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer and Fall Semester 2018
August 20 (Mon.)   Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
August 20 (Mon.)  Fall Semester begins
August 27 (Mon.)  Last day for full semester course registrations and adds including adds of thesis or dissertation credits (Census Date)
August 27 (Mon.)  Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 100% refund
August 31 (Fri.)  Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 75% refund
August 31 (Fri.)  Last day to file a drop to remove a full semester course from student's record
September 1 (Sat.) - November 9 (Fri.)  All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
September 3 (Mon.) Labor Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
September 7 (Fri.)  Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 50% refund
September 12 (Wed.)  Last day to submit tuition and fees payment without penalty
September 14 (Fri.)  Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 25% refund
September 28 (Fri.)  Final day to apply for a degree in December ($25.00 fee due with application)
October 12 (Fri.)  Last day to change a full semester course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
October 15 - 16 (Mon. - Tue.)  Fall Semester Break (Student Holiday - UNL offices open)
October 22 (Mon.) - November 6 (Tue.)  Priority Registration for Spring Semester 2019
November 7 (Wed.) 2018 - January 6 (Sun.) 2019 Open Registration for Spring Semester 2019
November 9 (Fri.)  Last day to withdraw from one or more full semester courses for the term
November 21 (Wed.)  Student Holiday (UNL offices open)
November 22 - 25 (Thu. - Sun.)  Thanksgiving Vacation (UNL offices closed)
December 1 (Sat.)  Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Spring 2019
December 3 - 8 (Mon. - Sat.)  Last week of classes**
December 8 (Sat.)  Last day of classes
December 10 - 14 (Mon. - Fri.)  Fall Semester Final Exams - Final Exams Information
December 14 (Fri.)  Fall Semester Graduate Commencement and Doctoral Hooding Ceremony
December 15 (Sat.)  Fall Semester Undergraduate Commencement
December 24 (Mon.) 2018 -  January 1 (Tue.) 2019 Holiday Closedown (UNL offices closed)

Spring 2019: January 7 - May 3 (Includes Finals Week)*

(Term = 1191)

DateEvent
October 22 (Mon.) - November 6 (Tue.) 2018  Priority Registration for Spring Semester 2019
November 7 (Wed.) 2018 - January 6 (Sun.) 2019 Open Registration for Spring Semester 2019
January 2 (Wed.)  First day UNL offices are open in 2019
January 7 (Mon.)  Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed) 
January 7 (Mon.)  Spring Semester Begins 
January 14 (Mon.)  Last day for full semester course registrations and adds including adds of thesis or dissertation credits (Census Date)
January 14 (Mon.)  Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 100% refund
January 18 (Fri.)  Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 75% refund
January 18 (Fri.)  Last day to file a drop to remove a full semester course from student's record
January 19 (Sat.) - April 5 (Fri.)  All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
January 21 (Mon.) Martin Luther King Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
January 25 (Fri.)  Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 50% refund
January 25 (Fri.)  Final day to apply for a degree in May ($25.00 fee due with application)
February 1 (Fri.)  Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 25% refund
February 12 (Tue.)  Last day to submit tuition and fees payment without penalty
March 1 (Fri.)  Last day to change a full semester course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
March 4 (Mon.) - May 19 (Sun.) Open Registration for Summer Sessions 2019
March 17 - 24 (Sun. - Sun.)  Spring Vacation (UNL offices are open Monday through Friday)
March 25 (Mon.) - April 9 (Tue.)  Priority Registration for Fall Semester 2019
April 5 (Fri.)  Last day to withdraw from one or more full semester courses for the term
April 10 (Wed.) - Aug 25 (Sun.) Open Registration for Fall Semester 2019
April 22 - April 27 (Mon. - Sat.)  Last week of classes**
April 27 (Sat.)  Last day of classes 
April 29 – May 3 (Mon. - Fri.)  Spring Semester Final Exams - Final Exams Information 
May 1 (Wed.)  Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer and Fall 2019
May 3 (Fri.) Spring Semester Graduate Commencement and Doctoral Hooding Ceremony
May 4 (Sat.) Spring Semester Undergraduate Commencement

Summer Semester 2019*

(Term = 1195)

DatePre-Session Event: May 20 - June 7
March 4 (Mon.) - May 19 (Sun.)  Open Registration
May 1 (Wed.)  Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer 2019
May 20 (Mon.)  Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
May 20 (Mon.)  Classes begin*
May 21 (Tue.)  Last day for late registrations and adds
May 21 (Tue.)  Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
May 24 (Fri.)  Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
May 24 (Fri.)  Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
May 25 (Sat.) – June 5 (Wed.)  All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
May 27 (Mon.)  Memorial Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
May 29 (Wed.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
June 5 (Wed.)  Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the Pre-session
June 7 (Fri.)  Classes end and final examinations
June 12 (Wed.)  Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
June 28 (Fri.)  Final day to apply for a degree in August ($25.00 fee due with application)
Date8-Week Session Event: May 20 - July 12
March 4 (Mon.) - May 19 (Sun.)  Open Registration
May 1 (Wed.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer
May 20 (Mon.)  Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
May 20 (Mon.)  Classes begin*
May 23 (Thu.)  Last day for late registrations and adds
May 23 (Thu.)  Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
May 24 (Fri.)  Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
May 25 (Sat.) - June 28 (Fri.)  All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
May 27 (Mon.)  Memorial Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
June 7 (Fri.)  Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
June 12 (Wed.)  Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
June 14 (Fri.)   Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
June 28 (Fri.)  Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the 8-Week Session
June 28 (Fri.)  Final day to apply for a degree in August ($25.00 fee due with application)
July 4 (Thu.)  Independence Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
July 12 (Fri.)  Classes end and final examinations
Date1st Five-Week Session Event: June 10 - July 12
March 4 (Mon.) - June 9 (Sun.)  Open Registration
May 1 (Wed.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer
June 10 (Mon.)  Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
June 10 (Mon.)  Classes begin*
June 12 (Wed.)  Last day for late registrations and adds
June 12 (Wed.)  Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
June 12 (Wed.)  Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
June 14 (Fri.)  Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
June 15 (Sat.) – July 3 (Wed.)  All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
June 21 (Fri.)  Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
June 25 (Tue.)  Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
June 28 (Fri.)  Final day to apply for a degree in August ($25.00 fee due with application)
July 3 (Wed.)  Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the 1st Five-Week Session
July 4 (Thur.)  Independence Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
July 12 (Fri.)  Classes end and final examinations
Date2nd Five-Week Session Event: July 15 - August 15
March 4 (Mon.) – July 14 (Sun.)  Open Registration
May 1 (Wed.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer
June 12 (Wed.)  Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
June 28 (Fri.)  Final day to apply for a degree in August ($25.00 fee due with application)
July 15 (Mon.)  Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
July 15 (Mon.)  Classes begin*
July 17 (Wed.)  Last day for late registrations and adds
July 17 (Wed.)  Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
July 19 (Fri.)  Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
July 20 (Sat.) - August 7 (Wed.)  All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
July 26 (Fri.)  Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
July 30 (Tue.)  Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
August 7 (Wed.)  Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the 2nd Five-Week Session
August 15 (Thu.)  Classes end and final examinations
August 17 (Sat.)  Summer Semester Undergraduate & Graduate Commencement and Doctoral Hooding Ceremony

*Mini Session Courses follow prorated dates for deadlines, tuition charges and refunds. For Mini Course tuition charges or refund dates, please contact Student Accounts.

**Faculty please see the 15th Week Policy regarding the last week of classes.

Academic calendars are subject to change without notice. The University reserves the right to revise or change rules, charges, fees, schedules, courses, requirements for degrees, and other regulations affecting students including, but not limited to, evaluation standards, whenever considered necessary or desirable. The University reserves the right to cancel any course for insufficient registration and to phase out any program. Registration by a student signifies an agreement to comply with all regulations of the University.

Back to top