2017-2018

Academic Year 2017-2018

Calendar Icon ICS  Print

Fall 2017: August 21 - December 15 (Includes Finals Week)*

(Term = 1178)

Date Event
March 27 (Mon.) - April 11 (Tues.) 2017  Priority Registration for Fall Semester 2017
April 12 (Wed.) - August 20 (Sun.) 2017  Open Registration for Fall Semester 2017 
May 1 (Sun.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer and Fall 2017
August 21 (Mon.)  Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
August 21 (Mon.)  Fall Semester begins
August 28 (Mon.) Last day for full semester course registrations and adds including adds of thesis or dissertation credits (Census Date)
August 28 (Mon.) Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 100% refund
September 1 (Fri.) Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 75% refund
September 1 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove a full semester course from student's record
September 2 (Sat.) - November 10 (Fri.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
September 4 (Mon.) Labor Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
September 8 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 50% refund
September 12 (Tues.) Last day to submit tuition and fees payment without penalty
September 15 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 25% refund
September 29 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in December ($25.00 fee due with application)
October 13 (Fri.) Last day to change a full semester course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
October 16 - 17 (Mon. - Tues.) Fall Semester Break (Student Holiday - UNL offices open)
October 23 (Mon.) - November 7 (Tues.) Priority Registration for Spring Semester 2018
November 8 (Wed.) 2017 - January 7 (Sun.) 2018 Open Registration for Spring Semester 2018
November 10 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from one or more full semester courses for the term
November 22 (Wed.) Student Holiday (UNL offices open)
November 23 - 26 (Thu. - Sun.) Thanksgiving Vacation (UNL offices closed)
December 1 (Fri.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Spring 2018
December 4 - 9 (Mon. - Sat.) Last week of classes**
December 9 (Sat.) Last day of classes
December 11 - 15 (Mon. - Fri.) Fall Semester Final Exams - Final Exams Information
December 15 (Fri.) Fall Semester Graduate Commencement and Doctoral Hooding Ceremony
December 16 (Sat.) Fall Semester Undergraduate Commencement
December 25 (Mon.) 2017 - January 1 (Mon.) 2018 Holiday Closedown (UNL offices closed)

Spring 2018: January 8 - May 4 (Includes Finals Week)*

(Term = 1181)

Date Event
October 23 (Mon.) - November 7 (Tues.) 2017 Priority Registration for Spring Semester 2018
November 8 (Wed.) 2017 - January 7 (Sun.) 2018 Open Registration for Spring Semester 2018
January 2 (Tues.) First day UNL offices are open in 2018
January 8 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
January 8 (Mon.) Spring Semester Begins
January 15 (Mon.) Martin Luther King Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
January 16 (Tues.) Last day for full semester course registrations and adds including adds of thesis or dissertation credits (Census Date)
January 16 (Tues.) Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 100% refund
January 19 (Fri.) Last day to drop a full semester course and receive 75% refund
January 19 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove a full semester course from student's record
January 20 (Sat.) - April 6 (Fri.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
January 26 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 50% refund
January 26 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in May ($25.00 fee due with application)
February 2 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course and receive 25% refund
February 12 (Mon.) Last day to submit tuition and fees payment without penalty
March 2 (Fri.) Last day to change a full semester course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
March 5 (Mon.) - May 13 (Sun.) Open Registration for Summer Sessions 2018
March 18 - 25 (Sun. - Sun.) Spring Vacation (UNL offices are open Monday through Friday)
March 26 (Mon.) - April 10 (Tues.) Priority Registration for Fall Semester 2018
April 6 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from one or more full semester courses for the term
April 11 (Wed.) - Aug 19 (Sun.) Open Registration for Fall Semester 2018
April 22 (Sun.) Honors convocation
April 23 - 28 (Mon. - Sat.) Last week of classes**
April 28 (Sat.) Last day of classes 
April 30 - May 4 (Mon. - Fri.) Spring Semester Final Exams - Final Exams Information 
May 1 (Tues.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer and Fall 2018 
May 4 (Fri.) Spring Semester Graduate Commencement and Doctoral Hooding Ceremony
May 5 (Sat.) Spring Semester Undergraduate Commencement

Summer Semester 2018*

(Term = 1185)

Date Pre-Session Event: May 14 - June 1
March 5 (Mon.) - May 13 (Sun.) Open Registration
May 1 (Tues.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer 2018
May 14 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
May 14 (Mon.) Classes begin*
May 15 (Tues.) Last day for late registrations and adds
May 15 (Tues.) Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
May 18 (Fri.) Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
May 18 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
May 19 (Sat.) – May 30 (Wed.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
May 23 (Wed.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
May 28 (Mon.) Memorial Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
May 30 (Wed.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the Pre-session
June 1 (Fri.) Classes end and final examinations
June 12 (Tues.) Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
June 29 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in August ($25.00 fee due with application)
Date 8-Week Session Event: May 14 - July 6
March 5 (Mon.) - May 13 (Sun.) Open Registration
May 1 (Tues.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer 2018
May 14 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
May 14 (Mon.) Classes begin*
May 17 (Thu.) Last day for late registrations and adds
May 17 (Thu.) Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
May 18 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
May 19 (Sat.) - June 22 (Fri.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
May 28 (Mon.) Memorial Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
June 1 (Fri.) Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
June 8 (Fri.)  Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
June 12 (Tues.) Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
June 22 (Fri.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the 8-Week Session
June 29 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in August ($25.00 fee due with application)
July 4 (Wed.) Independence Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
July 6 (Fri.) Classes end and final examinations
Date 1st Five-Week Session Event: June 4 - July 6
March 5 (Mon.) - June 3 (Sun.) Open Registration
May 1 (Tues.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer 2018
June 4 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
June 4 (Mon.) Classes begin*
June 6 (Wed.) Last day for late registrations and adds
June 6 (Wed.) Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
June 8 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
June 9 (Sat.) - June 27 (Wed.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
June 12 (Tues.) Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
June 15 (Fri.) Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
June 19 (Tues.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
June 27 (Wed.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the 1st Five-Week Session
June 29 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in August ($25.00 fee due with application)
July 4 (Wed.) Independence Day (Student and Staff Holiday-UNL offices closed)
July 6 (Fri.) Classes end and final examinations
Date 2nd Five-Week Session Event: July 9 - August 9
March 5 (Mon.) - July 8 (Sun.) Open Registration
May 1 (Tues.) Last day to apply for undergraduate admissions for Summer 2018
June 12 (Tues.) Last day to submit tuition and fee payment without penalty
June 29 (Fri.) Final day to apply for a degree in August ($25.00 fee due with application)
July 9 (Mon.) Late Registration begins ($25.00 late registration fee assessed)
July 9 (Mon.) Classes begin*
July 11 (Wed.) Last day for late registrations and adds
July 11 (Wed.) Last day to drop a class and receive a full refund
July 13 (Fri.) Last day to file a drop to remove course from student's record
July 14 (Sat.) - August 1 (Wed.) All course withdrawals noted with a grade of "W" on academic record
July 20 (Fri.) Last day to drop a class and receive a partial refund
July 24 (Tues.) Last day to change a course registration to or from "Pass/No Pass"
August 1 (Wed.) Last day to withdraw from one or more courses for the 2nd Five-Week Session
August 9 (Thu.) Classes end and final examinations
August 11 (Sat.) Summer Semester Undergraduate & Graduate Commencement and Doctoral Hooding Ceremony

*Mini Session Courses follow prorated dates for deadlines, tuition charges and refunds. For Mini Course tuition charges or refund dates, please contact Student Accounts.

**Faculty please see the 15th Week Policy regarding the last week of classes.

Academic calendars are subject to change without notice. The University reserves the right to revise or change rules, charges, fees, schedules, courses, requirements for degrees, and other regulations affecting students including, but not limited to, evaluation standards, whenever considered necessary or desirable. The University reserves the right to cancel any course for insufficient registration and to phase out any program. Registration by a student signifies an agreement to comply with all regulations of the University.

Back to top